What is Common Eligibility Test (CET)?

What is Common Eligibility Test (CET)?

The Common Eligibility Test (CET) has been announced to simplify the selection process in government jobs. The cabinet has approved the implementation of this by the central government. Union Minister Prakash Javadekar has given this information to the media.

Now, to get a government job in the central government, the candidates had to go through many examinations. The Union Cabinet has decided to end the process of passing several examinations. In this article, information is provided about What is Common Eligibility Test (CET), its registration, selection process, test validity, and the National Recruitment Agency.

What is the Common Eligibility Test ?

Candidates for recruitment in non-gazetted (category of class III and IV) government posts had to take several examinations. Candidates had to prepare separately for these exams. More time and money were spent on this preparation for the government. That is why the youth failed to get a government job.

Now the Common Eligibility Test will be conducted by the National Recruitment Agency. This test will be valid for the Group ‘B’ (Non-Gazetted) and below posts of the Government of India. To participate in the Common Eligibility Test, the candidate has to register.

The purpose of the Common Eligibility Test

The main purpose of the Common Eligibility Test is to complete the recruitment process with transparency. In the current time, many types of irregularities have been seen in the conduct of examinations, due to which the entire selection process itself has been doubted. When information about these anomalies is received, the court has to pass an order to cancel the entire recruitment process.

Till now different preparations were made for each post. Preparation for one post did not prove to be very effective in preparing for another post, due to which the candidate could not be selected on any post. One has to prepare for only one exam through the Common Eligibility Test. This can make it easier for candidates to get government jobs.

Registration for Common Eligibility Test

It is mandatory for the candidate to register to participate in the Common Eligibility Test. For this, a portal has been started by the National Career Services (NCS) of the Ministry of Labor and Employment. On this portal, the candidates must make their registration compulsory. After registration, the candidate will be provided with a unique ID. Only this unique ID will be used in the Common Eligibility Test, by which a unique identity of the candidate will be determined.

Selection process through Common Eligibility Test

The entire selection process has been divided into two parts by a Common Eligibility Test. The first part is named Tier 1 and the second part is named Tier 2.

(Tier 1)

A Common Eligibility Test will be conducted under Tier 1. This screening test will be conducted for SSC, Railways, Banking, and Non-Gazetted (category of class III and IV) Government posts.

(Tier 2)

In Tier 2, the examination will be conducted by the respective recruitment agencies. These will be the main examinations and they will be conducted by the scheduled recruitment agency. The candidate who will be declared successful in both these stages will be selected for the relevant post.

Level of Common Eligibility Test

The Common Eligibility Test will be conducted in three levels-

(i) High school level
(ii) Intermediate level
(iii) Graduation level

Validity of Common Eligibility Test

The marks obtained in the Common Eligibility Test will be valid for 3 years. Through these marks obtained, candidates will be able to participate in Tier-2 examinations for the next 3 years. Tier-2 examinations will be conducted independently by the respective recruitment agencies. Common Eligibility Test scorecard can also be used by the state government, public sector undertaking, private sector companies. With this, the eligible candidate can get the job easily.

Benefits of Common Eligibility Test

1. Till now recruitment agencies had to conduct separate preliminary examinations. With this, they will no longer have to conduct a preliminary examination.
2. Money used to be spent in organizing different preliminary exams. Now this money will be saved.
3. The candidates had to prepare according to the different syllabus of the preliminary examination. Now they will not need to prepare separately for the preliminary examination.
4. The state government and private companies can also select the eligible person through this scorecard.
5. There will be a standard pattern of common exams for all agencies.
6. First level exam will have only one syllabus.
7. Every district will have at least one examination center.
8. The result of the exam will be found immediately.
9. This result will be valid for three years.
10. The facility of examination again to improve the exam score.
11. There will be a common registration portal for this exam.
12. There will be a question bank and the same fee pattern.
13. The first phase exam will be in many languages.
14. 12 languages ​​will be included in this.
15. Candidates from different parts will not have linguistic problems in the exam.
16. There will be a 24-hour helpline. Candidates can keep their problems.

Drawback of Common Eligibility Test

The Common Eligibility Test will be conducted in 12 languages. This exam will not be conducted in other regional languages. Due to this, candidates with other regional languages ​​may face more problems.

What is the National Recruitment Agency (NRA)?

A multi-agency body called the National Recruitment Agency (NRA) will conduct a General Eligibility Test (CET) to screen candidates/candidates for Group B and C (non-technical) posts.

NRA will conduct a separate CET for all the non-technical posts for the three levels for undergraduate, higher secondary (12th pass) and matriculate (10th pass) candidates, currently recruited by Staff Selection Commission (SSC) Goes by Railway Recruitment Board (RRBs) and Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS).

The National Recruitment Agency will be a society and it will be a completely independent institution. It will include representatives from the three recruitment agencies (SSC, RRB, and IBPS). 1517.57 crore will be spent on this agency for the first three years. With this system, the three recruitment agencies will save Rs 600 crore every year.


Every year 2.5 crore candidates apply for government jobs, so to make the recruitment process easier, the National Recruitment Agency (NRA) will be formed by the government, which conducts the Common Eligibility Test (CET) exam online.

The Common Eligibility Test is a revolutionary improvement for the initial selection for various government posts vacancies, which will facilitate the recruitment of government posts, ease of selection and thus the candidates will get benefits in many ways.

What is Common Eligibility Test (CET)?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top